The Rose, Vol 1 by PD Alleva

53768681-2Title: The Rose, Vol 1
Author: PD Alleva
Published: 2020
Publisher: Quill and Birch Publishing
Readership: Adult
Genre: Science-Fiction, Dystopian, Thriller, Horror
Rating: ★★★★

I received a copy of The Rose Vol 1 from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.

Sandy Cox believed WWIII was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed, Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

The Rose Vol 1 is a step outside my usual sci-fi comfort zone, in that it’s a dystopian SFF thriller/horror title, but I’m definitely glad that I gave it a shot. PD Alleva has created a fascinating dystopian world in which the U.S. has been invaded by other nations, but it’s a smokescreen for the real invasion of an alien vampire race that resides below the surface of the Earth.

A young pregnant woman, is being assisted by a resistance member, Phil. But when Sandy is kidnapped, and her baby is genetically modified in the womb as part of experiments being conducted by the alien race to create hybrid children, all bets are off. There are various factions who want this experiment to succeed and others who wish it to fail, and it becomes a battle of epic proportions.

This is a fast-paced and unique story that’s not quite like anything I’ve read before. There’s a lot going on and you need to pay attention, and be prepared to pick up the second volume because the ending leaves you wanting more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: