⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ You and Me On Vacation by Emily Henry

cover211101-mediumTitle: You and Me On Vacation (published as People We Meet On Vacation in the USA)
Author: Emily Henry
Published: July, 2021
Publisher: Penguin
Readership: Adult
Genre: Romance
Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of You and Me On Vacation from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 

TWO FRIENDS
TEN SUMMER TRIPS
THEIR LAST CHANCE TO FALL IN LOVE


12 SUMMERS AGO: Poppy and Alex meet. They hate each other, and are pretty confident they’ll never speak again.

11 SUMMERS AGO: They’re forced to share a ride home from college and by the end of it a friendship is formed. And a pact: every year, one vacation together.

10 SUMMERS AGO: Alex discovers his fear of flying on the way to Vancouver.
Poppy holds his hand the whole way.

7 SUMMERS AGO: They get far too drunk and narrowly avoid getting matching tattoos in New Orleans.

2 SUMMERS AGO: It all goes wrong.

THIS SUMMER: Poppy asks Alex to join her on one last trip. A trip that will determine the rest of their lives.

You and Me on Vacation is a love story for fans of When Harry Met Sally and One Day. Get ready to travel the world, snort with laughter and – most of all – lose your heart to Poppy and Alex.

I’m happy to say that I am an Emily Henry fan. Beach Read is a book that’s stayed with me ever since I first read it last year. I loved the blend of romance and general fiction, and I was really excited to her see what she did with her second book.

It didn’t disappoint.

You and Me On Vacation is the story of Poppy and Alex and the twelve year slow-burn romance that defines their relationship. They first meet when they start college, convinced that they’ll never see each other again, and then every Summer their lives intersect and eventually become a series of Summer vacations and opportunities to explore the world together until one vacation it all goes wrong. At the beginning of the book, they’re not longer speaking and Poppy is in a creative and professional rut. Missing her best friend, she contacts him on a whim, proposing a last Summer vacation together.

Admittedly, slow-burn romances are not always my thing (which is not to say I don’t enjoy them, but I am pretty picky about the ones I enjoy), but this book really captured my attention from start to finish. Poppy and Alex are messy millennials who need to work on their communication, but have a long history together and path forward into the future together as well. Emily Henry is so clever at writing these smart, but flawed, characters who have to work at what they want without making it uncomfortable to read about. They’re relatable and honest and real.

The story is told in a series of present day moments interspersed with flashbacks to Poppy and Alex’s past, all of which are woven together to tell the story of their past and present. It’s a romance, so there’s an HEA and it’s a well-earnt HEA by the time we get there. I was on their side from start to end and just wanted them to realise their feelings for one another and reconcile their long, complicated past.

I’m not much of a traveller, but the descriptions of the places they travelled and their adventures together was just wonderful (and kind of escapist, in the current world climate) and I know this is going to be a popular summer read.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s