Defy the Worlds Review

Author // Claudia Gray    
Publication Date // April 2018
Publisher //Hotkey (Bonnier)
Readership // Young Adult
Genre // Science Fiction
Australian RRP // $19.99
Rating // ✭✭✭✭✭

I received a copy ofDefy the Worlds from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Synopsis

A story of romance, rebellion and the stars: the thrilling follow up to Defy the Stars.

A stunning blend of action-packed science fiction and love against the odds. Perfect for fans of STAR WARS and the DIVERGENT series.

Noemi Vidal has returned to her planet, Genesis, as an outsider – ostracised for refusing to end the Liberty War by sacrificing Abel, the most advanced mechanical man ever made. She dreams of travelling through the stars again, and when a deadly plague arrives on Genesis, Noemi gets her chance. The only soldier to have ever left her planet, it will be up to her to save its people. If only she wasn’t flying right into a trap.

Abel, now fully aware of his soul and captaining his own Vagabond ship, never dreamed he’d see Noemi again, not when the entire universe stands between them. But when his creator Burton Mansfield delivers news of Noemi’s entrapment, Abel knows he must save her, even if it means risking his own life.

Danger lurks in the dark corners of the galaxy, and Abel and Noemi will discover a secret that could save Genesis and Earth… or destroy them all.

In this thrilling and romantic sequel to Defy the Stars, bestselling author Claudia Gray asks us all to consider what drives us, and where we truly belong.

Review

Last year I read Defy the Stars and fell in love Noemi and Abel. 

This year, I’ve read Defy the Worlds and the ending BROKE ME. 

Being the second book in a series, it’s difficult to talk about the plot without spoiling the first book, so rather than talk about plot points, I’m going to focus on my impressions of the story and the characters. 

I mentioned above that I fell in love with Noemi and Abel and that stayed true throughout the second book, too. Noemi is such a tough, independent young woman with strong beliefs. She’s not afraid to stand up for herself or what she believes in and she fights hard for the people and places she cares about. Abel is the android who discovered that he has a soul and he’s dealing with that throughout this book, especially his ability to build and maintain friendships and relationships. He’s also dealing with what it means to be the only mechanical man of his kind, and the loneliness that it brings.

We also get the revisit a whole host of side-characters from the first book, both allies and villains and I have to say that one of the antagonists from the second half of the book is both terrifying and heartbreaking and exists in that morally gray area that I think makes villains so intriguing.

As for action – there’s tons of it, and so many plots woven together beautifully that make this story compelling, with enough at stake for each major character that I couldn’t put this book down.

And the ending? Oh, boy, the third book is going to bring everything to the fore. The characters beliefs will be challenged, relationships will (probably) end up in tatters and it’s going to be an emotional rollercoaster ride.

I can’t wait to read it!

I gave Defy the Worlds 5 out of 5 stars.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s